"From the moment she entered, dribbling a basketball,
both the ball and the audience were in the palm of her hand."
(Ulster Publishing)

"A KIND SHOT - like nothing ever seen."
(Broadway World)

"Terri Mateer is a presence in the room."
(What's On Off Broadway)

"Honest & affecting.”
(Nytheater Now)

"Wild & heart-breaking."
(Rave Reviews)

"This is compelling theatre."
(Electronic Link Journey)

"A lovely raw & emotional piece."
(Stage Buddy)
   
A Kind Shot

​​
Hoop du Jour
Terri Mateer’s solo show hits from downtown 
Review by Mikhail Horowitz -Ulster Publishing

I first met Terri Mateer when I was a 379-year-old philosopher and she was a Nazi. We mounted the boards in a play by Carey Harrison, Midget in a Cat Suit Reciting Spinoza, and although her role was small, her imposing presence
—all six-feet-one of her—was not. She commanded the stage with confidence and authority in each of her scenes. 
Flash forward to July of 2016. At Bridge Street Theater in Catskill, I finally got to see what Terri could do with a leading role. The character she played was a pro basketball player, fashion model, wannabe architect, and sometime stripper and actress named
. . . Terri Mateer, in a one-woman show titled A Kind Shot. From the moment she entered, dribbling a basketball,
both the ball and the audience were in the palm of her hand.
This weekend, Mateer’s autobiographical play, which elicited bravos at the Davenport Theater Off-Off-Broadway, is coming to Rosendale Theatre for two performances—on Friday, Oct. 27, at 8 p.m. and Saturday, Oct. 28, at 4 p.m. 
A feature-length monologue, A Kind Shot is an unflinchingly candid, darkly comic narrative that holds nothing back as it lays bare the checkered career of its author, who evolves, over the course of its telling, from a talented naif to a politically awakened woman. Throughout, the percussive pounding of the ball provides a rhythmic accompaniment to the narrative, as well as reminding us that, whatever crazy shit was going on in her life, there was always one thing, at least, that she could control—the responsive, round object that always came back to her hand.
As the first female from Brattleboro (Vermont) Union High School to be awarded a college basketball scholarship, Mateer went on to acareer in hoops that encompassed playing for Florida State University and then spending one eventful season, 1988–89, as a pro in France, on a team sponsored by Michelin. “The basketball culture was very loose over there,” she says, adding how shocked she was that the players would drink and smoke at half-time. “I was a vegetarian, and I got so fat—I was eating croissants, and I couldn’t believe these 12-course meals! But the level of play was awesome.”
Why she returned to the States is taken up by her solo show, where the incident is examined in detail. But suffice to say it was part of a long series of betrayals, involving exploitative and piggish behavior by many of the men in her life. Happily, that cycle was broken when she married Brian Mateer, a woodworker, surrealist painter, and all-around mensch who has schlepped props and handled the lights for her shows and provided constant encouragement. 
Standing up to chauvinist coaches and abusive bosses led by gradual degrees to a heightened sense of social awareness and a strong commitment to political activism. Mateer was one of the organizers of the Women’s March on Woodstock, which was held in solidarity with the same-day Women’s March on Washington. She also produced and acted in a V-Day performance of The Vagina Monologues that raised more than $12,000 for Family of Woodstock. And her solo play delivers a strong message of empowerment to young people in general and to young athletes in particular.
“The day after Hillary lost, we did the show at Mansfield University, in front of all the student athletes—girls’ teams, mens’ teams—and all their coaches,” as well as faculty and administrators, Mateer recalls. Because of the play’s raw language and the “tension of the times,” she thought it would be a good idea to be paid before the gig. She needn’t have worried. 
“After the show, I could see [Mansfield President Francis L. Hendricks] making his way over to me, and I was pretty sure he was gonna ask me for that check back,” she laughs. Instead, he shook Mateer’s hand and said, “Cassius Clay, Eleanor Roosevelt, Martin Luther King and many others have appeared on our stage, and now you have graced it with your show and presence. Thank you.”
Although her pro-ball days are over, Mateer can still hold her own in a pick-up game. The most recent occasion came at the Community Center courts in Woodstock. “There were three other guys, so we played two on two,” she says “My team lost, but we had fun. The smells, the sound of the ball, the smack talk with chuckles, the getting to know someone quickly, genuinely, not even knowing their name or what they did, it didn’t matter, it never has. I used to play all over the city, with all sorts of people— homeless, rich, black, white, girls, guys, all colors, all economic backgrounds.”
Mateer’s main gig when she’s not on stage is working as a hands-on landscape artist, counseling her clients to plant vegetables and encourage native plants, helping them to feel connected to the earth and to do what they can to sustain themselves. But more than anything, she is grateful to be part of such a supportive local theater community. “I got my start in community theater,” she says, and the strengthening of self-confidence and personal power it provided is something
she’d recommend to everyone: “Go do it! Audition! Knock on doors and say hi!”
Advance tickets ($15; $20 at the door) to Terri Mateer’s two performances at Rosendale Theatre may be obtained from www.akindshot.com You can also visit Terri's website for details of the show's run at Off-Off-Broadway TBG Studio Theatre, opening this January 13, 2018 and continuing through February 25.

Terri Mateer's One-Woman Show 
A KIND SHOT 
Is One of the Most Honest Pieces This Season 
Broadway World  by Juliana Adame - April 2015

Terri Mateer's autobiographical one-woman show is like nothing ever seen. It's a personal account of one woman's unconventional journey towards being a basketball star via modeling, stripping, becoming a drag queen, and a whirlwind of a crazy past. 6'1" Terri tells us her story, basketball in hand, in a comfortable, intimate setting. A hippie mother, no father, casual drug use: at first, the story is simple and somewhat funny, until she begins to unfold the more perverse parts of her life, beginning when she hadn't even reached middle school. She takes us all the way through her childhood, and into her adulthood, which luckily results in a happy ending, something the viewer longs for this girl in the story who never really knew who she was. It's truly a fresh, brave 
.daring take on the one-woman show

MATEER SCORES IN A KIND SHOT 
What's On Off Broadway  
by Scott Mitchell - March 2015
   
Terri Mateer is a presence in the room. Standing over six feet, she has striking features, a full head of blond hair and a physicality built from a college and professional basketball career. You get the impression this woman could take on the world. After an hour with her in the show A Kind Shot, you feel the same way, she could take on the world, but you know it would take a toll. Terri Mateer shares her story, and you can’t help but root for her. Raised by a hippie mother, she learned early that basketball could be her path to success. Not only was she good at it, but she loved the game. It brought camaraderie, discipline and a sense of purpose to a young girl. And, standing over 6 feet tall in sixth grade, she wasn’t a typical girl. Her story is well told. It has bumps in the road, but Ms. Mateer shares them with a simplicity and honesty that is forthright and refreshing. She recalls the moments as she experienced them, singular points of time that are glossed over because they are out of place in her expected narrative. Basketball takes her to college, to Europe and provides a safe place when in a new situation. It is all new and usually exciting for the young woman Terri is becoming. Later, when she pieces the story of her life in a singular whole, she finds that basketball has given her a framework for dealing with her own history. A Kind Shot is positive and honest, even when handling the worst in people. It never veers into the maudlin, despite the perfect opportunity. Ms. Mateer has a light, self-deprecating touch and she charms the audience. Which isn’t to say it is a perfect show. Ms. Mateer as writer and soloist has to carry the entire weight of the show on her shoulders. She succeeds as a writer better than as a performer. Her performance is uneven, sometimes amazing, and sometimes tentative. Some anecdotes get no response, either they fall flat or she uses sports terminology unfamiliar to the audience. In those instances, Ms. Mateer reacts to the silence, and it obviously catches her off guard. She recovers, and it is something that will improve over time. However, these aren’t the moments that stick with you.  By the end of the show, her earlier missteps are forgotten and she has the audience right where she wants them, rooting for her side. Terri Mateer is a very funny and genuine person that guides the audience through a raft of emotion 
!A Kind Shot is a great little show
   
Terri started playing basketball as teenager, and wound up
playing professional basketball in France
Stage Buddy by Susan Bell - February 2015​​
Recently I had the pleasure of seeing a one-woman show called A Kind Shot, a lovely, raw and emotional piece written and performed by Terri Mateer at the Davenport Theater in Midtown. Walking into the theater, the first thing you notice is a bare set, typical of the black box style. But there's a basketball court outlined with tape on the floor. This simple design works perfectly as Terri takes us through her life using basketball as her theme. You see, Terri is a beautiful, 6'1" tall woman who started playing basketball as a teenager, and wound up playing professional basketball in France. Just one part of her strange and fascinating story. Being as charismatic and strong as one could ever hope to be, Terri opens her heart to the audience and tells us of a crazy, artistic life with little guidance from family. This led to a series of abuses, both emotional and sexual. Normally, I would be uncomfortable or incredibly sad as a story such as this unfolds, but Terri somehow keeps it light, charming and funny. She weaves her tale with an understated warmth that makes you feel like she's your friend. It's rather like you are just hanging out at courtside having a chat, rather than at a theatre seeing a play. All in all, it's a simple and straightforward show. It's the story of someone who's had a fascinating life, and also the mistakes along the way. Perhaps you'll see yourself in Terri's story, or see a similarity to someone you know. I feel that women, in particular, will find a connection to what Terri has to say, although there was definitely a strong response from the men in the audience as well. After the show Terri took some time to do a question and answer with the audience, again making it a very intimate experience. I left the theatre happy that Terri found her voice and strength, and is able to share it with theatre audiences.
This is Compelling Theatre 
Electronic Link Journey by Laurie Lawson - February 2015


A KIND SHOT is the true story of Terri Mateer's basketball career. When you're 6'1" since 6th grade, the path would seem obvious. Not so with Mateer. Her journey twists and turns as she ventures from state to state and country to country. Eventually she ends up playing pro basketball in Paris, but her career choices are even more diversified than her travels. With raw honesty and a good deal of humor, even she at times seems amazed at the people who assisted or abused her (sometimes the same person participated in both acts). Her fascinating story is told in a "wait until you hear this" style that immediately makes you feel as if an old friend is sharing war stories. To use the basketball analogy, Terri Mateer's life is like the sport itself. It takes a great deal of energy, and if you're lucky, there will be players along the way who will assist you. You don't always win, but when you get a chance, you take a shot. And if you make it, you're on top of the game. Taking a shot by writing and performing A KIND SHOT definitely works out - this is compelling theatre.
A Kind Shot- Leaning-In Can Be The Most Effective Game At Life 
Rave Reviews NYC - February 2015


In Terri Mateer's one-woman show, A Kind Shot, she opens her heart and bares her soul - taking us through her emotional ups and mostly downs. Until someone "leaned-in" empowering her to take charge,Terri never knew she had a choice nor a voice. Terri uses basketball as an allegory for her life and at times basketball was her only salvation. As a child there wasn't much emotional support from her family so she sought it elsewhere. She was smart, artistic and athletic, but often a poor judge of character leading to situations where she was emotionally and sexually abused. She played professional basketball, lived overseas, modeled, stripped and designed erotica. Then she got sick. You couldn't make up a story as wild and heart-breaking if you tried - yet this is her life. Terri is imposing. She's 6'1" and stunning. The tone of the play is conversational - as if she's talking to a group of friends. This is not a polished play. Instead A Kind Shot is more a workshop composed of anecdotal stories which include mature and graphic sexual subject matter*. She does not appear to be bitter or angry, rather she exudes warmth and approachability. Terri's hope is to "package" her play for high schools and colleges to teach about the power of "leaning-in" to help a friend. It's an important lesson and, no matter what gender or age, we can all learn from her story.
 a kind shot 
 NYtheater Now
(Robert Attenweiler - August 2014)

 Too often, when we express admiration for an athlete, it all comes out in physical terms. We admire her grace or power or size  or a chiseled physique that those of us in the stands quite knowingly lack and, in doing so, we elevate these athletes and their  dedication to their bodies. They become impervious to harm - at least until their bodies prove otherwise. That strength - often  called "heart" - is what that athlete taps into when she needs to get, say, a gritty stop on defense and help the team succeed. Off  the court, though, this image of physical strength can just as easily become a mask, obscuring a less physical pain that is no less  real. The journey toward this discovery is what Terri Mateer takes her audience on in her honest and affecting one-person show,  a kind shot. Mateer, a former professional basketball player, begins by standing alone on a bare stage dribbling a basketball.  She soon rolls the ball aside and starts telling the story of her life and how a boarder in her childhood home named Ike taught a  6'1" sixth grade Mateer to play basketball. Having lost her father at a young age, Mateer quickly took to Ike as a surrogate. When  Ike abruptly leaves her life, though, at least Mateer still has the game that he taught her. She dreams of using basketball to get a  scholarship and become an architect. This dream leads her from Boston University to Florida State where she accepts a role as a  walk-on before leaving the team to play as the only woman - and a white woman at that - in the city's rough all-black inner-city  league. She eventually gets recruited by the new women's coach at FSU and, after graduation, signs to play professional  basketball in France. Most of these accomplishments, though, bring equally painful memories with them. Ike left (only to return  later in her life and similarly disappoint), another man's charitable act is quickly undercut by sexual abuse, and her career in  France is soon derailed by a lecherous head coach. Through it all, Mateer keeps rolling - after France, to New York City then onto  Chicago - seeing her dreams dashed at each stop - usually by manipulative men - and refusing to see the recurring pattern  because such perceived weakness is the antithesis of the strong, tough image she has spent her whole life fashioning for herself  on the court. Eventually, though, Mateer is able to acknowledge all the ways she has been used and abused throughout her life  but is able to still find solace and inspiration on the basketball court. Now, she sees playing as extending your heart out - of  making yourself more present - rather than using physicality as a shield or a shell. These are skills that she now teaches to  young girls, trying to be, for them, the great coach she needed at that age but could not find. Mateer is incredibly honest  throughout her story and she tells it in a spontaneous, off-the-cuff manner that immediately makes the audience comfortable.  Even through some of her most shocking confessions, Mateer is able to keep the tone light enough so that serious moments can  quickly be followed up with humor and laughs. Mateer is also a very present performer and seems to be experiencing the same  moments of joy and pain from her story as the audience feels in hearing it for the first time.
 Still, "a kind shot” has real touch and scores with ease.
   
Rosendale Theatre Audience Reviews Oct 2017
​​





"I'm so glad I got to see this show! Terri Mateer tells her story - her incredible, hilarious, tragic, transcendent story - in the most natural, unassuming way imaginable. And it's brilliant. If you ever have the chance; go see it!” -Ingrid Price

"Stunning performance by Terri Mateer, who does some amazing theatrical ball-handling, switching from comedy to darkness and back and sinking every shot. The subject matter could not be more topical, and her frankness about the many ways in which trust can be betrayed and how women need to become our own referees is inspiring. Thank you, Terri!” -Nina Shengold

"Amazing performance last night! Thank you for bravely sharing your stories!”- Lori Gross
"A brilliant performance, Terri. Courageous. Excellent writing. A must see!Thank you Terri.”- Margarita Meyendorff

"Brilliant show. Blown away and grateful for the experience.” Nicole Ganas

"Outstanding show. Well written and stellar presentation. LOVED IT!!!” - William P. Brinnier

"Terri is a great story teller with an engaging story to tell. Watching her command the stage in Rosendale yesterday was a delight. She uses her 6'1" frame gracefully, and when she describes an acting class exercise gone wrong, she contorts herself into funny, surprising shapes.
Of course, not all her stories are upbeat, but she navigates those times honestly. 
I found "A Kind Shot" surprising, positive, and thoroughly entertaining. Spend some time with Terri Mateer. You won't regret it.”- Davis Hall

"LOVED the show! So timely.” - Beth Broun

"Yesterday afternoon I had the privilege of attending a one woman show at The Rosendale Theatre. A Kind Shot, written and preformed by Terri Mateer. If you get a chance please go see this show. You won’t be disappointed!”-Deb Spencer-Halas

"Also forgot to say, ten very best physical comedy ever in the striptease audition but. Lucy and Ethel nor Molly Shannon have anything on you. So very funny. How you revealed the sexual manipulation of a young girl reminded me of the great Paula Vogel play, 'How I Learned to Drive'. Thanks again for a great show.” Elie Shot

"Terry's show is a Smash Hit waiting to hit the big time and times are ripe for it right now! She is a towering talent figuratively as well as litterally. Bravo Terri” William P. Brinnier

"Terri! What an incredible story and amazing performance - A Kind Shot - loved it! You are awesome!”- Helene Gordon

"Loved the show this afternoon--heartfelt performing and inspiring to see! Thank you for putting it all together!”- Mary Lois Ashead

"Life doesn’t have referees....learn early to be your own.  That’s what I took away from the inspiring and vivacious performance of Terri Mateer’s  A KIND SHOT. A lesson for women and men, girls and boys of all ages. Thank you for it!" Nichole Quinn

"Even at 58 I can still use your advise! Enjoyed your show immensely and when you wrapped it up at the end it was so touching I cried. Thanks for a geat show and I hope you have the opportunity to share your message to many girls.” Coty Maldonado

"Thank you, Terri Such a strong performance. Very moving. I look forward to your next project.” Ethan Plank​

"Hi Terri..... So so much enjoyed your show! Keep on speaking truth.... You are a beautiful powerful brave woman!” - Constance Martha Taft

"Hi Terri, Just wanted to thank you for your amazing performance last night at the Rosendale Theater! You are so brave to share your stories...and you did so in a way that connected all of us in the audience and gave us a shared understanding of the pros and cons of being a female human in a fucked up patriarchal culture. Your story kind of normalizes life’s craziness. By normalizing I mean showing people the kind of misogynistic crap that happens to so many women but never gets talked about. So by sharing your story in the powerful but informal storytelling way that you did...you connected each person to their own story which ultimately makes us less alone...like we all can move through the crazy challenges in our lives and find our power and voice. So thank you!!! PS If you ever want to barter landscape design services for massage therapy, let me know. I’ve been a licensed massage therapist for 25 years and I live andwork in High Falls." got another show toady at 4!!!”- Lori Gross

"What a great performance - captivated from the moment Terri started to speak and tell her story.” Helene Gordon
"Tonight's gig: I was privileged to shoot for Terri Mateer's powerful one-woman show A Kind Shot at the Rosedale Theatre.
Did some interviewing, some B-roll and of course, the show. Comedic, yet hard-hitting stuff. Catch her work if you can: www.akindshot.com
#storytelling #akindshot” - Carl Weldon
"
Audience Reviews 2014-2016
​​





"Terri Mateer And “A Kind Shot” Truly Dazzle"
I feel very fortunate to have seen the amazing Terri Mateer, a beautiful, talented, gracious performer in “A Kind Shot,” last night at Davenport Black Box Theatre.
The autobiographical, one woman show, written and performed by Ms. Mateer, with help from her husband Brian Mateer (stage manager and lights) was truly moving, inspirational and in the end profound.
She “had me” as they say, when she talked of learning to shoot like the great player, Oscar Robertson and held the Wilson (a mention of “Wilson” evoking Tom Hanks in “Cast Away”) basketball in the same way, the “Big O” did, before shooting.
Mateer went on to do so much more, blending her basketball and life experiences, in telling her inspirational story of surviving and now flourishing, while looking around and helping others.
She graciously greeted the audience after what was the last of four performances at Davenport. There will be other shows in the near future and I highly recommend seeing the extraordinary Terri Mateer in this truly moving work.
August 18, 2016 by Andrew Baumgarten


It was an awe inspiring show. It was exceptional. Brutally honest but nonetheless a show which everyone of age should see. I was fortunate to talk to the star of the show and she was simply a sweetheart. So down to earth. I recommend this show highly. -August 17, 2016 by Robert Rankins


We just got home, still shaking, still crying, still stirred up, and laughing. It couldn't have been more moving, well crafted, articulate, and important. You were brilliant at it and in it.Good for you, good for us! It was truly a dramatic and psychological work of art. Hats off to you!
- Alice and Bob

You pulled me in with everything you shared and seduced me with everything left unsaid.
- Love, Noelle

Gripped by every moment of it - loved the stories - told in just the right order - It's beyond talent. You're a natural but it's beyond that. You have genius. I've said it before & will say it again - in print if possible! You have genius that only a few have. I think when people see this show they will realize that you belong in a tradition of physical comediennes of genius.
- Carey Harrison, Artistic Director, The Woodstock Players Theater Company

Your performance was riveting. Your communication through emotion and body language was right to the point. I think all of the audience felt your experience, we certainly did.  Thank you for your hard work and the courage to share it with others. 
- Love, Erica

I so enjoyed your show that I want to read the book (I hope you're writing it.). Want to know more about how you overcame the obstacles in your life to get  to be the open woman you are.
- With love, Dexter

I have to tell you that I went to bball practice tonight and told my friends about you and your show. They all want to meet you when you come to dc!!! I don't think there is a senior team in NYC but you could become a floating player for other teams as they compete in state tournaments, and then become qualified for the nationals (not this year, but in 2017). That's not too far off!!!Interested??
- Melinda

I just wanted to reach out to you again. I'm in one of Beth's writing classes. I saw your show Sunday, and I was blown away. The piece was crafted so well. I was touched. Thank you!
- Shane Allen Sent from my iPhone

Not sure if you will remember me but we met at Blue Moon Resort in the Catskills during an A.N.D. Improv Retreat.  I will see if I can attach my headshot to jog your memory. Anyway, I had heard good things about your show and was glad I could catch it on Sunday night.  When you took the stage is when I realized I knew you.  I loved the show, Terri.  It was so powerful and it stayed with me and I want to thank YOU for putting it on.  I am getting a bit more involved with The Barrow Group (i.e. did their Fast Play Fest and am now taking Seth's Solo Show class).  If you ever want to catch a reading or something there (or elsewhere), let me know. Brava!
- Angela

Amazing show last night. Both my wife and I were SO GLAD that we were able to come and see it. Please add my email to your list and I will encourage everyone I know to come and see the play when you mount it again later in the spring. Thank you again.
- Sincerely, Mark Woollett

Your performance was the topic of conversation at our after show dinner at Yum Yums (great noodle soup) We invited another artist/performer friend to join us for dinner and he is interested in checking out your show.
Thank you for a moving, honest, humorous and raw performance. This is why I love Theatre! 
-Jody

I found your show incredibly affecting and I was actually moved by my daughter’s response to it. She thought what you are doing and what you are saying is incredibly important. My experiences, as someone over 50, are quite different than the millenials. As far as women and feminism have come, in some ways I feel we're still living in the dark ages. You are a survivor and your play can help remind women of our strength  But they need to recognize, speak up and put an end to physical and emotional abuse -and I think they're afraid. I've asked Arissa to encourage friends to see the show. Keep in touch.
- Laura

We greatly enjoyed your performance.  I had my children with me, two boys 20 & 18 as well as a daughter 16 years old.  I was pleased they could see your performance as, in my view, you had important things to say.
- Craig Wilson

My Dear,
I've been delaying writing to you about your show until my week cleared a bit. Simply, I just thought it was an extraordinary performance of extraordinary material. It's a fantastic message which seems to be coming just at the right time in our culture. Not only is " A Kind Shot" a perfect showcase for you as a performer (and you are such a pro already) but it offers an engaging cautionary tale with a strategy that can change lives.
- Christine Donnelly

As we told you we see a lot of stuff in small theaters, basements, garages etc. Your performance, we felt, was the reason we keep going. As they say, "You have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find the prince." Last night we found a prince.
- Carole & Harvey
 A KIND SHOT
Mansfield University Diversity Programming
November 2016

"I greatly appreciated your presentation. It provided some significant insight in addressing such an important topic as Title lX. As a male coach coaching a male sport like football, it could be easy to be oblivious to the inequality issues in sport.
The student athletes that I coach need to be part of the solution in resolving the problems that we face today. It all begins with 'doing' and 'saying' the right things, always show respect and support efforts in making participation fair for everyone.
Thank you again and God Bless!"


Rick Novack -Mansfield University Football Coach​​


"Cassius Clay, Eleanor Roosevelt, Martin Luther King and many others have performed on our stage and now you have graced it with your show and presence.
Thank you."


Francis L. Hendricks-President Mansfield University 

​​